Archippus’ Charge and Mine

Shannon – (Believe it or not, I’m putting a little bit more about me into my blog aside from the copious details about my life. I’m accomplishing this primarily by introducing family photos. Some lesser known details about me: my name is Eva, I’m 19, and I aspire to be a writer. Either I hardly get into trouble or I’m very good at not getting caught, actually, I’m too well behaved and never went through that teenage rebellion thing. Most of my friends from high school scattered to the four winds, this xanga is the means that I use to talk to the few that are left. Some pictures are already uploaded, others are coming eventually.)

 

17 Tell Archippus: “See to it that you complete the work you have received in the Lord.” – Colossians 4:17

 

That verse struck me yesterday. Archippus was a disciple, his name appears again in the begining of Philemon. That’s not the part that struck me, it was the rest, “See to it that you complete the work you have recieved in the Lord.” I’m up to a number of things, but it seems that I’m nowhere near completeing any of them. I don’t mean to have these things not done, but it’s too easy to put it the end of the list after laundry, dishes, and all the other things that are to be done around the house. “See to it that you complete the work you have recieved in the Lord.” Ok, I will. This quote doesn’t hurt, either, “The Creator has not given you a longing to do that which you have no ability to do.” – Orisen Swett Marsen. So I’ve got work to do, the ability to do it, and the fact that it’s for the Lord. I’m not entirely certain how I recieved the work, but it’s mine to do. If I put it off, somebody else will probably do the work, but that wouldn’t bring the same glory to God. God works like that. Good old Abe Lincoln once said, “The Lord prefers common-looking people. That is the reason he makes so many of them.” I don’t know if he was trying to make a point or prove he had a sense of humor, but it’s true. Unfortunately, not all of them know Him. “See to it that you complete the work you have recieved in the Lord.”

3 thoughts on “Archippus’ Charge and Mine

  1. Mmmm, banana nut bread, it’s so comforting considering that scientists say an asteroid named Apophis is headed for us and will probably not hit us in 2036. Just in case, they’re asking for plans to deflect the asteroid.

    Like

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

