The Youth Have Left The Building

Century – The youth group of my old church was pretty smart. It mostly consisted of students from a neighboring town (I had lived in both towns at one point or another). They moved on up to college and it didn’t take long for them to start dissapearing. They had decided among themselves that as long as you believe in Jesus Christ as your risen savior, the other things that you believe don’t matter so much. Not long after that the pastor of that church said something to the effect of “If you don’t believe A, B, and C, you’re a heretic.” The falling out with the old youth group and the pastor of that church was brutal. It wasn’t long before they had gotten ‘too busy’ to come or didn’t bother to come at all. The pastor never realized the depth that he had insulted the future generation of that church. Calling all the youth heretics, especially the one that was the most faithful among them was not a smart idea. I was just younger than them and kept on attending. About the time I left to join my parent’s church (which happens to be the place where the college kids are in this college town) I had been the only college-age regular in that church all year. I guess some of the old church rubbed off on me, because here I am. I think I know more about the Bible and now I’m not so sure about the agreement of the older youth. I know that you’re good if you believe in Jesus, but is that really enough? Really?

6 thoughts on “The Youth Have Left The Building

  1. To add to what I said.  Remember, satan believes in Jesus.  We have to accept him as our Lord and Savior.  Romans 10:9 – That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

    Like

  2. @Papillon_Mom – That’s what the old youth group believed. They didn’t care if you were an old-earth or a young-earth creationist or preferred to baptize your baby or leave the decision to them when they’re older, for example, it just mattered most to them that you believe in Jesus.

    Like

  3. @TheUnmaskedAvenger – Well, I think it does matter that we believe in the truth of the Bible… but not for our salvation.  I think it matters because there are other souls to reach and once we start comprimising, (and yes, spouting some herecies) then we fail to reach as many.  The Word of God doesn’t need our input.  It’s solid on it’s own, so study it and believe the truth of it.  See what I’m saying??But as for each individual person, I know many who believe in an old earth who are just as devoted to their walk with Christ.  I don’t agree with them… I think they are wrong, in fact.  But they sincerely love the Lord and will be in heaven with me.

    Like

  4. @Papillon_Mom – Thanks, it really helpful. I had mentioned my debating opponent before and it frustrates me (to no end). According to the code of the old youth group, he’s good. It just bothered me though, that somebody could believe such out of hand things. The end of the story for that youth group is that they all sort of fell away and the one that fell the furthest I knew best. I’m afraid that my debating opponent will also fall away, despite the fact that God orchastrated the events that got him over here in the first place. So I’ll keep on working on him, I just have to figure out how to do so if he doesn’t believe a word of scripture.

    Like

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

