Something Worse Than Purple Death

Consolas – (This week we are borrowing an American Boxer. His name is Bugsy and he’s a real sweetheart. I’m just not sure that he barks though. Finally, after the better part of a year negociations have been finalized and I’ve acquired an early serial. I was curious after having seen Captain Proton, but I do believe that Captain Proton is better. Sadly, it’s not much of a serial, just a few ‘episodes’.)

It begins, “After wars and rumors of wars, a devastating plague called the Purple Death descends upon the Earth identifying its victims with only a purple spot on their foreheads…” The rest isn’t so important, they figure out where the plague comes from and they go to deal with it. The day is saved, the earth is spared. In the real world though, our plagues are called HN51, MRSA, and other official names, but the popular names like Bubonic Plague, Yellow Fever, and Bird Flu warn you of the trouble to come. There is another plague that people refuse to acknowledge. It is called sin.

Romans 7:14-20, “14We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.”

Even Paul struggled with it and we are not immune from its effects, though we will not suffer its final price. Elsewhere in the Bible, a simple definition of sin is lawlessness. The Israelites were given the Ten Commandments and the promise of a blessing if they would follow all that God had commanded them. Paul later clarified:

Romans 8:1-4, “1Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. 3For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in sinful man, 4in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit.”

I mentioned that you know that somebody is a victim of the Purple Death by the purple spot on their forehead. Sin also marks its victims. One day it will be as obvious as a mark on one’s hand or forehead. Sometimes the sin is obvious, other times people may never know. There is somebody who will always know:

Hebrews 4:12-13, “12For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. 13Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

