I Worship Jealous

Constantia – Throughout time, people had the sort of religion that they could control. It was a simple matter of choosing an idol to worship. If good things happened to the people, that was what they would worship. If things went horribly wrong, it was time to get another idol. As long as they could make offerings or pray to their idols, they would be okay. As in the case of the Hebrews, the more they turned to their idols, the quicker they forgot God. The first account if images (another form of idols) was when Rebecca left her father’s house. It is commonly held that Abraham’s father was an idolmaker, though it is not mentioned in the Bible. In essence, people had a sort of ‘do it yourself’ religion. Abram didn’t think much of it and was thrilled to meet a God that was truely alive. The generations quickly forgot, and a stint as slaves to the Egyptians didn’t help matters. The Hebrews bent their knees to a golden calf, something known as Asherah, looked to a bronze snake, and all the starry hosts. They had been so steeped in this sin, that they followed the command to pass their children through the fires of Molech. The thing was, God demanded that the people He had chosen choose Him as the only God they would worship. When you worship God, you give Him the control and put down the idols in your life, be it magazines, remote controls, wallets, and keys.

(As soon as I stepped into the school doors, the children told me about a certain student. After a time, I met him for myself. I found out that he was, in addition to other things, an idol worshipper. He considered himself to be the reincarnation of his fertility goddess. He told me that he didn’t like the sound of a jealous god. My answer didn’t suit him. Three years later, after having transfered to another school he comitted suicide. This is the answer I wish I could have given him:)

Exodus 34:14, “14 Do not worship any other god, for the LORD, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God.”

When we think of jealousy we have the dictionary definition: 1a – intolerant of rivalry or unfaithfulness, b – disposed to suspect rivalry or unfaithfulness, 2 – hostile toward a rival or one believed to enjoy an advantage, and 3 – vigilant in guarding a possession. Thanks to the tendancy to sin, we take things to an unhealty level and we corrupt jealousy. We only see it as an ugly green monster. Pure jealousy, we don’t know what it is. God chose to tell us that was his name. It’s not only a quality about him, he is Jealous. He created everything there is around us and we say “Thanks to Darwin, we all know that this is the natural process of evolution.” He made us and we say “Thanks to our scientists, we now know that a stage of human development is called a fetus and it is a perfectly natural choice to end the process of pregnancy.” He gave us everything in our lives and we say “Thanks to how hard I have worked, I have earned everything I have because I spent all my life about getting these things.” Should such a God just let people go? Why shouldn’t he be jealous for you? What we have done is to say, “I know that you’ve been my dad for all my life, but I like Wilson’s wisdom and he’ll be my dad from now on.” Wouldn’t your dad be upset, after all he had done for you? Hasn’t God, the Father that gave fatherhood its names, been treated the same way? My God is Jealous for me, and I’m glad for that. He just won’t let me go that easily.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

