Gardening

Lucida Sans – Every year I look out on the garden and I’m surprised how much effort it takes my Dad to get the harvest that he does. It hardly looks like much, overall. If you’ve seen those gardening shows on television, my Dad’s garden looks nothing like it. It’s just a corner of the ground, hard light brown soil, and really not much to it. He spends days and weeks and months planting, watering, and weeding. Then trying to find ways to ammend the soil, somehow he is able to bring in so many tomatoes, green beans, onions, peppers, and whatever else that we don’t know what we’ll ever do with the other half he has yet to bring in. I grew up breaking beans, shucking corn, and helping with food preperation aspect of gardening. My grandparents kept two gardens and would sell most of their extra okra and tomatoes to anybody who was willing to wander to that part of the suburbs.

John 15:1-8, ” 1″I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. 3You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.
 5″I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you
can do nothing. 6If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. 8This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

God has always been the gardener. For the good of the plant, it is necessary to prune it. For the good of the garden, weeds must be removed. Failure to removes weeds, in this case, will result in the destruction of the plants. So these things, I understand them clearly. I’ve seen a garden produce year in and year out. I look forward to growing a garden of my own one day.

Matthew 13: 3-9, “3Then he told them many things in parables, saying: “A farmer went out to sow his seed. 4As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up. 5Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. 6But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root. 7Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants. 8Still other seed fell on good soil, where it produced a crop—a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown. 9He who has ears, let him hear.””

It was amazing the ways that Jesus would tell the truths of Heaven to the people. It’s all too easy to close your eyes and picture a farmer broadcasting seeds by hand. I think our society has lost much in the movement from agrarian to industrial. The basic understanding isn’t difficult to grasp, but some kids may never see a bumper crop or spend their summers lending a hand to pick tomatoes. In the future, it will be all the more difficult for people to understand all the parables in such a clear manner.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

