Incredible Heroics

Lucida Sans –

I remember when heroes were bound by the law.

I remember when heroes were uncorruptable.

I remember when heroes were unstoppable.

I remember when heroes were unkillable.

I remember when heroes were moral.

I remember when heroes were something more…

In the golden age of comics, the super heroes weren’t just super-powered people, but as people themselves they were super. They were a cut above the rest. Citizens who could act in and out of costume for the well-being of everybody.

Then as people got tired of the same old, super heroes started being more realistic. They had personal problems and addictions just like everybody else. They broke the rules, had break-downs, and had no self-esteem, in some cases.

Thus the creation of the anti-hero. Vigilantes who could care less about the law and deal out their own punishments. They racked up body counts of bad men, not realizing that they were becoming what they were hunting.

As I see the superhero movies in theatres, I can’t help but wonder if it too, will leave the super behind and focus on the anti-heroes. It’s just, no matter what we see of superheroes, we must not forget that real heroes wear uniforms and not costumes. They save lives, protect people, and even lay down their own lives so that others might live.

I do have one hero who is above the rest. He is bound by the law, uncorruptable, unstoppable, unkillable, moral, and something more, His name is Christ Jesus.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

