The Dessert Bar

Papyrus – George Lawrence decided that after a good game on the Links, he deserved his favorite dessert at the Club. Being a New Yorker, he ordered Cheese Cake. Several minutes later, Pecan Pie was brought out to him. Bewildered, the man inquired of the staff why he was not given his chosen dessert.

“Sir, we’re under new management and now the only dessert we have to sell is his favorite, Pecan Pie.” The waiter said. George had never heard anything so ludicrous in his life, so he booked an appointment with the new management.

It didn’t take long at all before George was in the office of the new manager, a man by the name of Christopher Green. Mr. Green was obviously twenty years younger than he, but George saw him for the young punk he was. “I understand you have a problem with the Dessert Bar.” Mr. Green began.

“Yes I do. How can you call it a Dessert Bar when you only sell one thing?” George asked.

“Ah. I see your problem. I’ll change the name of the dessert bar to ‘Perfect Pecan Pie’. Does that solve your problem?” Mr. Green told him.

“No, I loved the New York Cheese Cake here and I want to know if you really stopped selling it because you like Pecan Pie better.” George said bluntly.

“It’s not just that I like Pecan Pie, but I truely believe that all the world would be a better place if we all had the same dessert every evening, so starting with this Club, I’m making every establishment I own sell only Pecan Pie.” Mr. Green replied.

“Is that what this is about? Nobody really argues about any good desert, be it German Chocolate Cake or Five Layer Bars or Cheese Cake or Pecan Pie. People are happiest when they have the choice. You’re talking nonsense!” George accused the new manager.

“I’m surprised to hear that comming from you. You just don’t understand how wonderful Georgian Pecan Pie is. You would rather have your flawed Cheese Cake. At least with Pecan Pie it is genuine and never changes, but there are so many kinds of cake, it’s impossible to be fair to them all. You see, when everybody prefers Pecan Pie, then we can phase out everything from Ice Cream to Cookies. This isn’t just about dessert and it’s not nonsense.” Mr. Green answered angrily.

“No. It’s not. I just want to tell you that as of this moment I’m tearing up my membership to World Country Club and I’m never comming back here again. I’m going to go somewhere where I can get all of the Cheese Cake I want.” George calmly stated as he walked out of the room and closed the door.

 

So it is with world religions and Christians are the Cheese Cake fans.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

