Clue: “Communism is just a …”

Comic Sans MS – They say that the phrase ‘red herring’ originates with training hunting dogs. Once they were trained to know that scent, it would be used to throw them off of the trail of other game with much fainter scent. Eventually they would learn not to follow the scent of the red herring. While the use of the phrase does meet with comedic standards, I can’t but help wonder if all the goings-on around here is a red herring sort of thing to keep us busy from going after what we should be.

We’ve got a global economic crisis, unemployment beyond the hundreds of thousands, pirates in the seas, hostile governments murdering its own people with designs against others, and who knows what going on at any moment. It’s hard to really focus on what we should be doing. This is why I think a certain enemy of God loves to put red herrings in our way. You see, we’re the hunting dog that is supposed to follow the scent of a certain game, but the strong scent of a red herring leads us astray far too often.

The real test is if every single red herring will lead us astray or we’ll ignore it for once. In the time it takes to realize that we’ve been decieved, that original quarry has gotten that much further ahead, or we’ve gotten ourselves that much further behind. My biggest red herring would probably be video games (I’ve got a team almost to lv 75). I do know that if I put as much time into that Bible of mine as did on that game, I’d have a much greater understanding of what I believe (as opposed to a working knowledge.) I’ve been reading more lately, so I’ll get there. (But I’m sooo close to level 75.)

We’re told in Luke 9:23-24, “23Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.”

That is something we’ll need both hands for, so we’ll have to put down those red herrings that we’ve been toying with, be it video games, books, music, food, the remote control, or whatever else it is. And every single day put God first. Anything else is just a red herring.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

