Placing Trust

Bodoni MT – “Trust has to be earned. It’s gradual. And yet it’s the foundation of every relationship, professional and personal. It’s also a concept alien to the telepathic races. Why take someone at their word when you can simply read their mind?” – Inspector Kashyk of the Devore Imperium, Star Trek Voyager Episode, “Counterpoint”.

The episode in question doesn’t say much more on the subject, but it leaves the viewer asking how far that trust goes. Does the captain trust the inspector? Has the trust earned by the inspector been well placed? Does the telepaths’ reliance on the captain prove him wrong?

It’s not that simple to say, “As an avoidant I cannot trust.” God asks that I trust Him and the plans he has set for me no matter how near they are to or how far they are from my comfort zone. I can’t overcome this on my own, no matter how hard I try. For that I will need God. Perhaps I should try to put on friendliness even when I’m not feeling particularly friendly in the effort to bring about friendliness.

Trust may be my stumbling stone, but each of us have our own mountains to climb. I trust you already know who to turn to for assistance.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

