A Beating Heart

Bookman Old Style – I’m trying to remember where I heard a sermon that was talking about how desensitization hasn’t done us any favors. I’m not quite sure of the whole point of the sermon, for that matter. I just remember this story, “And when they had put that actor on trial for murder, they had trouble with one of the members of the jury who kept on walking out when they tried to show that person the bloody pictures. That person had a beating heart.”

When we were watching a family movie on one of our fifteen channels, the scene showed a dog in the street and a man using his super strength to push a dumpster into him, The German didn’t understand why the movie didn’t actually show the dumpster hitting the dog. I could have told him that the standards set for family televison are different than those he was used to. I could have told him that in the old black and white movies, crime was shown as shadows on the wall and not the actual crime itself. Honestly, I’m so used to not being shown dogs getting hit by dumpsters and actual crimes, it’s not something I would have noticed or thought out of the ordinary.

Like many, I’m a fan of detective shows, but I prefer Monk and Psych over CSI and its spin-offs. The German, however, was a fan of CSI and so I’ve seen at least an episode or two. Whodunits just aren’t what they used to be, but the writers had to be imaginable to get a story together, weave in motivation, red herrings, and whatnot, I don’t quite know how they managed to write epiodes for Perry Mason, Columbo, Diagnosis Murder, and all those other whodunits without wanting to shoot in a thorough autopsy scene.

We watch murders almost every night on television, and when our favorite never-existed dectives aren’t enough to thrill us, we can always turn on true crime investigations. Perhaps detective shows don’t thrill us, but there are many options on the plate that is television. Then again, when we’re not rocking our video cames, we can go to war on them, live the life of a thug, and every now and then save a princess.

It’s just, I’m not sure I could be accused of having a beating heart. I can’t recall the last time I flinched when I saw violence on television. I don’t even shed a tear when teenagers make the news for being dishonorable in conduct and absent in morality. You see, I’m pretty sure that if I had a beating heart, I wouldn’t put up with the sort of things on t.v. in the area of things that I see in real life. My heart would compel me to feed people who aren’t going to walk off camera and help themselves to the crew’s snacks. My heart wouldn’t allow me to do nothing when I hear about the suffering of anybody when there’s something I can do to relieve it. So I’d have to agree that desensitization hasn’t done me any favors. Good thing I know a guy who knows a thing or two about beating hearts.

Luke 6:43-45, ” “No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers. The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”

One thought on “A Beating Heart

  1. I’m a fan of CSI, but I never saw monk. At any rate the thing about seeing what kind of fruit a tree bears really does tell you a lot about the tree.For example I’ve met many people who call themselves christians but they do a lot that drives people away from Christ. You can see what kind of fruit they bear.Great post!

    Like

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

