Yarn

(I caught an episode of the Beverly Hillbillies yesterday where it was revealed that Jed likes to say, “Up at five you’re sure to thrive. Wait til six you’re in a fix.” I was definately up before six this morning, walking the dog for the fifth or sixth time before sun-up. In case I haven’t mentioned, she’s an American Boxer and she’s very vigilant about protecting her people. I’ve been watching Stargate SG-1 from season 1 and I haven’t gotten very far. Probably the hardest thing about this move is grasping the complexities of the new time zones. When we moved to Indiana, we lived in an area where there was no time zone until we voted in a new governor. Short lived as the joy of not resetting clocks was, figuring out whether people mean “fast time” or “slow time” can be frustrating down here.)

I was attending the first foreign language and culture fair sponsored at school when it happened. You see, the students operated the booths for the three languages taught, French, German, and Spanish. I hardly recall what booth was my responsibility, but I do remember that the booth next to mine was all about making Ojos de Dios, or God’s Eyes. One student had failed to carefully keep the yarn seperate. Forunately my knot-untying experience proved useful and I got started right away. As the students explained to one family about the meaning of the colors and gave a demonstration while the kids proceeded to make their own eyes, the man tried to atribute the colors to things Christian. He was stuck on teal. I suggested that it should represent living water – like the story of the woman at the well. The man said, “You’re a Christian, aren’t you?” Turns out he was the pastor of a local church.

I wonder if his church ever sang, “They will know that we are Christians by our love…”

How did somebody else peg you for a Christian?

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

