Comming Together

We went to our first annual family reunion this weekend. Seventy were invited, but only about a third showed up. I only knew a handful of my relatives, the rest were virutal strangers. A number of them were about my age with two or three little kids running around everywhere. I found it ironic that all my life I had missed the oppurtunity to get to this side of my familiy and just now I’m missing the side of the family I know as they’re getting married and having kids of their own. I don’t feel like I fit in very well at all.

The Bible tells us that we’re going to have a family reunion of sorts. Every believer will be gatherered together in heaven. Some of them might have been mentioned in the Bible or risked their lives to spread the word. It’s hard to imagine meeting relatives or even those famous in your lifetime, but the glimpses we see in the Bible can’t reveal the glory of the whole thing. After all, heaven isn’t just a new sky, but a new earth.

It’s difficult to imagine what it would be like to have ever need we fulfil ourselves be provided for by God himself, but heaven itself is difficult to imagine because it is so much more than even we can dream. It’s a good thing too, because that’ll free us up some time for something we tend to do most on Sunday mornings.

Interestingly, I don’t think that the awkwardness common down here will be a problem. We won’t be strangers or in the least bit disagreement over or differences because of what we all have in common: God. There can be no celebration on earth that would ever rival or come close to that upcomming family reunion.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

