Christ-ward Bound

(Finally, we’ve gotten the floor poured. We’ve managed to get about a hundred dollars out of scrap aluminum. I spent the vast majority of yesterday’s afternoon baking cookies on pizza sheets about ten at a time. The last time we had cookies was a few weeks before we moved some two or so months ago. Time has flown by quickly. My little brother is doing well. At the moment we’re hoping to get the worksite prepared so that we won’t have so many issues. On the list: finishing the installation of the temporary electric, put an rv or trailer to store lunch with and hold out in should weather happen, and create a dog run. The day before yesterday I was helping to remove screws from the scrap aluminum and I relized that the dogs were nowhere in sight. After much calling, the dogs eventually appeared. Since then we’ve kept them on the leash as they like to take off in the general direction of the road.)

I’m no stranger when it comes to moving and fixing up homes. I tend to up and relocate every five years. I knew the day that we moved to Indiana we would one day move from Indiana. So I didn’t set up roots.

Phillipians 3:12-21, “12Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.
 15All of us who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. 16Only let us live up to what we have already attained.

 17Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. 18For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things. 20But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”

Citizenship is the state of being a citizen of a particular social, political, or national community. It can come with rights and responsibilities. As an American citizen, I have the right to vote I don’t have to practice it, but that’s my choice. I don’t have to worry about being attacked or having my vote cast out or not counted. I might be called up for Jury Duty, I might not. As a citizen of heaven, it’s up to me to continue in Christlikeness.

My home is in heaven, but this trip ’round the earth is like practice for the new earth and the new heaven. If it takes three weeks to begin a good habit, it’ll take a lifetime to begin all the good habits invovled in Christlikeness. Could you imagine how vastly different this world would be if every Christian were as Christlike as they could be?

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

