never mind

Hi. I’d like to thank y’all for putting up with me. You wouldn’t know how many you are with all those comments flying in lately. It’s really hard to keep up. You see, when I started this blog I had no illusions that my life would be the topic of conversation. There’s only been one big change that I can think of since day one – I’ve moved to another state. I’ve mostly made it about God, my understanding of His Word, and how it applies to me. I’m now at the point where I think I’m talking about the same things over and over again. Where can I go that I have not already gone? In my four years here, I think I’ve seen more people go than come, especially of late.

I keep on thinking that had I really applied myself I could have done what everybody is supposed to do. Graduate high school, go immediately to college, do not pass go for four years, steadily pay off debt while buying really cool toys, and enjoy life whenever possible. But I know that just as I’m not the sort for a cookie-cutter house, I’m not the sort for a cookie-cutter life. I think, God set me aside for something different. I just don’t know what yet. It strikes me much my generation is stuck in deep, rising water. We’re young and healthy and all for free stuff. We’ve never read an End User Liscence Agreement let alone these papers blowing through D.C. like a tornado. We’re piling up in school debt and looking into adding onto that house debt to balance of those credit cards we seem to tear through like candy.

Have things truely changed? Are we marked with lessons we will not fail to teach our children and their children? Is service a fad or the new employment? Will the America we end with be the dream of the founding fathers or the trouble they once warned us against? How come I have no hope, only dread?

One thought on “never mind

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

