Real Religion

As I’m watching my show, a character teaches another an important aspect of his spirituality. All the main character had to do was meditate on a happy place to meet a creature who would guide her throughout her life. Another character walked in remarked that she tried to kill her guiding creature. From what I remember of other episodes, this aspect is featured every now and then. This series has managed to wrestle with the difference between religion and spirituality. Some episodes end with a sort of, “some things you just have to believe” message.

So I looked online wondering what the main character’s creature reflected and I found little but alternative religion’s pages. I know that my religion is enough for me, so I exited out of that page. I can’t just close my eyes, go to my happy place, and get guidance from some creature. What guidance can a created thing offer other than to look to the creator? Does it know the past, the  present, or the future? Does it know what is best for you? Does it offer any comfort beyond this life?

Then I realized that the reality of Christianity lies with Christ Jesus. There is every way of knowing that this world is in conflict with the one we are promised. In the way things are real to the flesh here, things are unreal to the spirit here. In the world we are promised, everything is real to the spirit and uncompatible with the flesh. In as much as you can touch your mouse, your keyboard, your table, your coffee mug in this world, by your faith you can touch the real things of the next world. So Christian, be careful of the things you can touch spiritually in this world, created things hold no answers, alphabet boards give no comfort, and anything can lead you away from the realitiy of Christ.

Colossians 2:17-19, “17These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ. 18Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize. Such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions. 19He has lost connection with the Head, from whom the whole body, supported and held together by its ligaments and sinews, grows as God causes it to grow.”

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

