Not Quite Ready

(I was doing quite well excercising for nearly two whole months. Then I didn’t quite keep up until the point where I stopped. It was a combination of the intensity being stepped up and me being unable to complete some tasks at the easiest level. I felt it created a gap that I couldn’t quite jump. So I’m going to try again. Just getting started is much harder than I thought it would be. Of course, nothing worthwhile is easy.)

Family programming has certainly changed over the years. It used to be shows like ‘Gilligan’s Island’ and ‘I Love Lucy’. Today ABC is advertising their summer series, ‘Pretty Little Liars’ about a group of friends whose secrets concerning the dissapearance and subsequent murder of one of their own is about to be revealed, ‘Secret Life of an American Teenager’ about a group of friends who must adapt to the reality of an unexpected pregnancy and somehow survive high school, and some other show, I forget which. ABC says that family programming isn’t just something the whole family can watch, but something that allows a family to open a dialogue about the difficult subjects. I can see how the later show could open a dialogue about pregnancy, but it’s not as if you can ask, “So, have you murdered any of your friends lately to keep your secrets safe?” Besides, a parent does not need a television show to talk about the difficult subjects. One thing I do know is that should this trend continue ABC will have to drop the word family from it’s advertisements. I do not want to imagine what sorts of programs will replace these once they become old and tired.

I would much rather see a Star Trek that builds on the canon established by The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, and Voyager. I would much rather watch a show about a teenage girl who refuses the trap of popularity, doesn’t give into peer pressure, and who works hard to earn scholarships, good grades, and prepare herself to achieve her lofty goals. I would much rather watch a show about a teenage boy making the best of his life a turn of the century America long before the advent of television. I’m tired of the trend of teenage soap operas. I see nothing here to admire, only an attempt of a company to bring in money by sacrificing their principles. That’s nothing new, I know. Here is something else that isn’t new, most shows have fairly short lifespans. So I’m not that worried, I don’t usually watch that channel anyway.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

