Thankless

I know that you’d expect me to talk about how thankful I am for my family and the like, which is why I’m going to be doing the opposite.

  • thank·less Adjective   /ˈTHaNGklis/
    Synonyms:
    • (of a job or task) Difficult or unpleasant and not likely to bring one pleasure or the appreciation of others
    • (of a person) Not expressing or feeling gratitude

Here is to feeling down-right poor in a formerly affluent country. Prices are up, jobs are hard to come by, and it’s just too hard to make ends meet. Have you noticed that the prices haven’t changed but the products you are buying are coming in smaller packages?
Here is to feeling alone in an world full of strangers. Not only in the real world, but I play games in the virtual world and for all the friends I have, I don’t know them. If I needed somebody to spend an hour with me to cheer me up, there would be nobody who would do that for me, let alone give me the time of day. Have you noticed that we’re more connected to technology than the needs of our neighbors?
Here is to feeling like the holidays are less about the holiness of the days and more about what you can fit into your shopping cart. If only we learned to stop running up the debt of money and learning to run up the debt of love that we are sorely missing.

There are a lot of things to be thankful for and something that deserve a little less thanks. Until we understand what is not, we can’t make much of the things that are.

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

