Greetings and Salutations

So instead of making a big thing about how I’m comming back, I figure I’d just start where I left off. A few days ago I made two loves of Spiced Pumpkin Bread – which was something we had never tried before (uncharted territory, as I say from time to time.) Fortunately it was a hit – we all seem to like it.

So we’ve all done it – it’s been a fairly busy week, nothing out of the ordinary. We walk into the church and there are dozens of people there. One of them walks up to you shakes your hand and asks, “How are you?” That’s not what he means. What he meant to ask was “Would you please tell me you are doing just fine? I don’t think I can handle it to hear that you’re having a rough time lately.” So you answer with the usual, “Oh, I’m just fine. I can’t complain.” or a simple “I’m good, really good.” It’s a conversation you repeat every few minutes – just with different people.

Then you bump into me, the words are out of your mouth before you could stop yourself, “Hi! How are you?” You cringe. Here it comes. I respond, “Oh, well. I could be better. It’s been a tough week and all …” You count the seconds, then the band begins to play and you thank your lucky stars that you have an excuse to get back to your seat.

You know, we call each other brothers and sisters in the faith. We just get so wrapped up in a little bit of this and that to really notice how our actions affect others. When I see people who ask “How are you?” All I hear are people who want to be told that I’m good. I’m just fine. Things are going really well. I flip open the Bible to Romans 14, scroll on down to verse 19 and read, “19 Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.”

Mutual – of or pertaining to each of two or more; held in common; shared:
Edification – to instruct or benefit, especially morally or spiritually; uplift:

What if we could lean our cares on the church? Divide our sadness? Multiply our joy? What if we shared our lives more than just one or two days out of the week? So let me ask you something – How are you really?

