Singing New Songs

Doxology – 1674

Christ the Lord is Risen Today – 1739

All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name, Amazing Grace – 1779

Battle Hymn of the Republic – 1861

How Great Thou Art – 1885

Great is Thy Faithfulness – 1923

I’ll Fly Away – 1932

Sometimes it amazes me, Christians don’t always realized that we’ve been singing the same old songs, some of them just  for a few decades, and others, centuries. Truth is, the oldest hymns a terribly frustrating to me (and this is only a small list – were I to find the most popular hymns of all time, organize them by year to show you what year most contributed to our favorite hymnals – it would look much different.) I’d imagine that none of them ever thought of the concept of electric guitars and synthesizer keyboards … let alone all the other really cool things musicians can do. I wonder, what modern song might be ‘classic’ enough to become a hymn fifty, sixty years from now? My vote – ‘I Can Only Imagine’, and here’s why: It’s one of the few songs that I know of that was popular on both christian and secular radio stations – it’s still somewhat well known. When was the last time you heard a teenager walk down the sidewalk singing ‘Jesus Lover of my Soul (1740’s version)?’

 

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

