Terribly Thirsty, Possibly Parched

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
without money and without cost.
2 Why spend money on what is not bread,
and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
and you will delight in the richest of fare.” – Isaiah 55:1-2 (NIV)

I’d quote that whole passage, it’s probably my favorite among the old testament. (among the Nevi’im, or the Prophets, as I’ve just learned.)

I understand a lot about why God chose to speak through metaphors, things like thirst, work, and hunger are things that we all experience at some point no matter who we are, where we live, or in what stage of life we’re in.

Somewhere along the way, I came to realize I was spiritually thirsty – and that each church responds differently to that. Some churches are the sort that have only a comunion cup’s worth of spiritual water. It’s not a lot to go on, but it’s better than absolutely nothing. Some churches have a fair amount spiritual water – like a broken water fountain, it comes and it goes. Some churches do have an excess of spiritual water, and it’s working wonders for the members and their community. Most churches, I think, are somewhere between a little and a lot, but aren’t always capable of using it effectively.

But now that I’m older, I’ve come to realize that the real danger is people not knowing they’re spiritually thirsty and living a dehydrated life. For me – I came to realize that no matter however much spiritual water the churches offered on Wednesday and Sundays, it wasn’t enough. It resulted in this blog – letting me drink in the Bible, History, and God. I have come to learn and know a lot over the years – partially because I recognized that I couldn’t just leave it to the Church.

If I’m being tasked to teach because I seem to know a lot, I get that. If it’s because I’m the closest age-wise, I can see why my perspective would be useful. But I cannot teach material I do not believe to a group of youth who know precious little theology-wise, especially when the other teacher believes that any theology whatsoever is just too much for them to handle. By the time I was their age, I already knew at least half of what I know now. I was just waking up to that thirst and began asking questions, seeking truth, and knocking on doors to find out what I wanted to know. Hopefully spiritual thirst is contagious, becasue that’s the only thing that will sustain them for years to come.

Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again and again. Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.” – John 4:13-14 (MSG)

...Anyway, that's just how I feel about it ... What do you think?

